Legal Writing Faculty

Our Legal Writing faculty focus on teaching students the skills they will use every day as practicing lawyers. Members of the faculty have been recognized both for their contributions to the profession and for their outstanding teaching.

Anne Enquist, Director
J. Christopher Rideout, Associate Director
Mary Bowman, Associate Director
Lorraine Bannai
Deirdre Bowen
Jennifer Cooper
Janet K. G. Dickson
Connie Krontz
Laurel Currie Oates
Sara Rankin
Mimi Samuel
Kirsten Schimpff

Faculty Awards

  • Professor Laurel Currie Oates received the Thomas M. Holdych Award for Meritorious and Transformational Service in 2012. In 2009, she received the Marjorie Rombauer Award for Contributions to the Teaching of Legal Writing. In 2007 she received the Burton Award for Outstanding Contribution to Legal Writing Education. In addition, she received Seattle University Alumni Association's Distinguished Teaching Award in 1997, and the Association of American Law Schools' Legal Writing, Research, and Analysis Section Award in 2003.
  • Professor J. Christopher Rideout was named Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year in 2012, 1998, and 1995. In 2009, he received the Mary Lawrence Award from the Legal Writing Institute for outstanding contributions to legal writing scholarship.
  • Professor Deirdre Bowen in 2010 received an award for Best Paper for the National People of Color Legal Scholarship Conference Junior Faculty Writing Competition Award Winner for her article American Skin: Dispensing with Colorblindness and Critical Mass 73 U. Pittsburgh L. Rev. 109 (2012).
  • Professor Anne Enquist received the 2014 Burton Award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. In 2007, she won the Service Award from the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research.
  • In 1998, the Legal Writing Institute gave special awards to Professors Anne Enquist, Christopher Rideout, and Laurel Currie Oates for their contributions to the profession.

Sullivan Hall