Donald Horowitz

Contact Advancement

Seattle University School of Law
901 12th Avenue, Sullivan Hall
P.O. Box 222000
Seattle, WA 98122-1090
(206) 398-4600
Learn more about the Advancement team

Endowment Gifts

Endowment Gifts ensure the long-term success of Seattle University School of Law. Top priorities include scholarships, faculty support, and academic student programs. Sample named gift opportunities include:

  • Faculty chairs - $2,500,000
  • Professorships - $500,000
  • Lecture series - $250,000
  • Scholarships - $50,000
  • Competition award/prizes - $25,000

Through the generous support of alumni and friends the following endowments have been established in support of Seattle University School of Law.


The Alaska Fund
Established by George and Mary Sundborg to provide scholarships for students from Alaska and to ensure that the School of Law continues to serve as an important resource for the State of Alaska.

Access Admission Program Scholarship Fund
Established by an anonymous donor for the purpose of providing scholarship support for students admitted through the Access Admission Program.

George and Eloise Boldt Memorial Scholarship Fund
Established by the University of Puget Sound Board of Trustees to honor Judge George Boldt.

Ben B. Cheney Foundation Legal Writing Scholarship
Established for the purpose of awarding one legal writing scholarship to the student who writes the best opinion letter in an annual writing competition.

John J. Costello, Leo B. Costello, and The Society of the Friends of St. Patrick Law Endowed Scholarship
Established by the Society of the Friends of Saint Patrick for the purpose of providing a scholarship based on academic merit and financial need.

Law School Faculty Scholarship Trust
Established by the faculty in 1976 to provide an award to the student (or students) who demonstrates the skill, dedication, scholastic achievement, leadership, both inside and outside of the classroom, that best exemplify the ideals of the law school.

Frederic & Catherine Metzger Memorial Scholarship Fund
Established to recognize the students who write the second and third best opinion letters in an annual writing competition.

Louis J. Muscek Scholarship Fund
Established through a bequest from Tacoma attorney Louis J. Muscek for the "benefit of worthy students in the law school."

Byron D. Scott Memorial Scholarship Fund
Established by Mrs. Virginia R Scott in memory of her husband.

Faculty Support

Donald and Lynda Horowitz Endowed Chair for the Pursuit of Justice
(held by Prof. Margaret Chon)

Established by Don and Lynda Horowitz, active advocates throughout their careers and lives, who remain dedicated to improving the quality and delivery of justice for all. The purpose of the chair is to support the development of an evolving interdisciplinary approach to advance understanding of the challenges and opportunities of ensuring equal and meaningful access to high-quality justice for all, with focus on the transformative possibilities and resources that can be used to minimize or eliminate injustice.

Faculty Professorships

William C. Oltman Professor of Teaching Excellence
(held by Prof. Sidney DeLong)

Established to honor one of the law school's first and best teachers, Professor Bill Oltman, who recently retired from the law school. The professorship recognizes that the strength of the faculty depends on both scholarship and on classroom teaching.

John D. Eshelman Professor
(held by Prof. Janet Ainsworth)

Established to honor Seattle University icon, retired University Provost John Eshelman, an early and enthusiastic proponent of the law school. A strong and effective advocate for academic excellence, Professor and former Provost Eshelman has served Seattle University in many different roles over many decades.

Fredric C. Tausend Professor
(held by Prof. David Skover)

Established to honor former Dean and Professor Fred Tausend, a leader in the Seattle and national legal communities. Well known as one of the finest trial attorneys ever, former Dean and Professor Tausend was an early advocate of diversity in the legal profession.

Academic Programs

Academic Resource Center Fund
Established by Professor David Boerner in support of the Academic Resource Center.

Lee Brettin Law Library Fund
Established by LeRoy Brettin for the purchase of library materials.

Thomas Galligan Endowment
Established by Thomas C. Galligan and his son, Thomas C. Galligan, Jr. '81, to enhance the quality of the school's educational program.

School of Law Distinguished Lecture Series
Established by a gift from an anonymous foundation for the purpose of funding an exchange and lecture series between two universities.