Law School Turns 35

Seattle University School of Law has changed a lot in the past 35 years. Now it’s time to honor the history, celebrate the achievements and look toward the future of the School of Law.

35 Years

Throughout the 2007-08 academic year, Seattle University School of Law will commemorate the 35th anniversary of its founding year of 1972/73.


April 25 Gala

Seattle University School of Law will celebrate 35 years of standing for excellence and reaching for justice with a gala celebration on Friday, April 25, 2008 at Benaroya Hall in downtown Seattle.

The evening will feature The Seattle Symphony Orchestra performing Aaron Copland’s “Lincoln Portrait,” under the direction of Music Director Gerard Schwarz with a special guest narrator. A formal dinner and dancing will follow.

Watch your mail for a formal invitation. For more information, contact 35th anniversary coordinator Eva Mitchell at

Kickoff Reception in Tacoma

We’ve changed a lot in the past 35 years. But we have never forgotten our Tacoma roots. More than 500 people from the law school community turned out to celebrate those roots at a spectacular reception at the Museum of Glass on October 17, 2007. It was a great night of reminiscing about where the law school started and looking ahead to where it’s going. Alumni reconnected with classmates and their professors, and the law school recognized the core group of founding faculty that got the law school off the ground.

Look for coverage of the event in the winter 2007 issue of the Lawyer.

35th Anniversary Tacoma Kickoff Committee

Co chairs
Justice Charles Johnson ‘76, Washington State Supreme Court
Lucy Clifthorne ‘97, Vandeberg, Johnson & Gandara
P. Craig Beetham 1989
Judith Billings 1987
Hon. Frank Cuthbertson 1993
Janina Duling 1994
Gregory Duras 1982
Tracy Flood 1999
Charles Granoski 1974
Erik Grotzke 2005
Lara Herrmann 2000
James Holman 1976
Bradley Jones 1979
Colleen Klein 1985
Peter Kram 1976
Amy Lewis 1992
James Lopez 1978
Thaddeus Martin 1998
Michael McKasy 1976
Joan Mell 1991
Stuart Morgan 1996
Aaron Owada 1983
Tanya Pemberton 1991
Laird Pisto 1979
Christine Quinn-Brintnall 1980
Rodney Ray 1976
Vonda Sargent 1994
D. Michael Shipley 1988
Sabrina Smith-Ahrens 2001
Shelly Speir 1997
Wendy Zicht 1991
Candace Zygar 1987

Share Your Memories

From airplanes to escalators – share your memories and photographs of law school experiences by e-mailing them to

Archive Project

The School of Law Library is establishing an archive of the school’s history, and the next chapter of the school’s history will be written from this process. We need your help. Please watch your e-mail for requests for memorabilia and stories!