Law school honored for its commitment to equal justice

The School of Law will receive the Civil Equal Justice Community Partnership Award in recognition for its commitment to improving access to the justice system for low-income people.

The Washington State Access to Justice Board will present the award at a state conference in Yakima at the end of May. The board recognized the law school for its commitment to equal justice and creating strong community partnerships.

"This is a recognition of all of our many efforts on this front, and the hard work of many at the law school to live out the law school's mission of creating a more just and humane world," Dean Kellye Testy said.

Testy thanked many, specifically Diana Singleton, director of the law school's Access to Justice Institute; Paul Holland, director of the Law Clinic, and all the clinical faculty; Vice Dean Annette Clark, who supervises both ATJI and the clinic; Fe Lopez, director of Student Life; and several of our professors from practice and practitioners-in-residence including John McKay, Ada Shen-Jaffe, Bob Boruchowitz, Bob Alsdorf, Eric Eberhard, Judge Mary Yu and Don Horowitz.

Sullivan Hall