Law school announces 2011 alumni award winners

(April 5, 2011) Seattle University School of Law is proud to announce the recipients of the 2011 Alumni Awards. The recipients will be recognized at a luncheon at noon Friday, April 15, in the second floor gallery of Sullivan Hall. If you would like to attend, RSVP by April 12 to or 206-398-4600.

 The honorees are:

Mark McLaughlinDean's Alumni Medal: Mark McLaughlin '94, CEO of VeriSign Inc., and was appointed by President Obama to the President's National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee.   

The Dean's Medal is bestowed upon an outstanding graduate in recognition of contributions to the legal community and the community at-large and an unwavering commitment to the advancement of the law school and law school community.

Lyn JohnsonDistinguished Law Graduate: Lyn Johnson '95,  managing director in contracts for Boeing Commercial Airplanes. He manages the Commercial Contracting for new Boeing aircraft in the Americas region.

 This award honors a graduate whose career achievements embody the mission, principles, and goals of Seattle University School of Law as it emphasizes academic excellence and education for justice. Awardees are graduates who have distinguished themselves in their field, earned high respect and whose impact is realized on a local, national or global level.

M. Lorena GonzalezAlumni Service Award: M. Lorena Gonzalez '05, an associate at  Schroeter, Goldmark & Bender, past president of the Latina Bar Association of Washington and the Law Alumni Board.  

 This award honors a respected and distinguished graduate of the law school who has demonstrated exemplary service and a continuing commitment to the law school while also embodying the school's dedication to academic excellence and education for justice.

Anthony RavaniAward for Recent Graduates: Anthony Ravani '07, who has worked with immigration cases for several years and is known for handling every case personally, seriously and passionately. He is a founding member of the Dean's Club.

This award recognizes an individual who graduated within the past 10 years and has demonstrated an exceptional commitment and support to the development of an engaged and vibrant SU community.

RSVP by April 11 to or 206-398-4600.